Call us today
Hervey Bay 07 4124 4551
Bundaberg 07 4152 8772

Types of cataracts

The human crystalline lens can be thought of as a fruit. The hard seed in the centre is called the nucleus; the soft fruity part is called the cortex; and the skin or peel is called the capsule. Cataracts can come in several types or combinations and can be classified according to where in the eye’s lens they start to form:

  1. Nuclear cataracts – not as alarming as the “nuclear option”, so please keep reading. This type is brown and forms in the lens nucleus, its “seed”.Nuclear Sclerotic
  2. Cortical cataracts – these form in the lens cortex, its “fruity part” and create a white appearance. Many diabetics develop this type of cataract.Cortical Cataract
  3. Subcapsular cataracts – these begin at the back of the lens capsule, it’s “peel” or “skin”. They create a foaming effect, or a granularity.Posterior Subcapsular

Sometimes they are hereditary and other than that, they most often occur in:

  • People with severe shortsightedness.
  • People who are on high doses of steroids.
  • Those who have had other previous ocular diseases or prior eye surgery.
  • Young diabetics.

Each type of cataract gives different symptoms and has different causes.